Logo of Disability News and Information Service (DNIS)


11th N.C.P.E.D.P. Shell Helen Keller Awards announced

D.N.I.S. News Network, India: The winners of the much coveted N.C.P.E.D.P. Shell Helen Keller Awards for 2009 have been announced. This is the 11th edition of these awards instituted by National Centre for Promotion of Employment for Disabled People (N.C.P.E.D.P.), to honour individuals and organisations who have been working towards promoting equal opportunities and providing gainful employment for persons with disabilities. The Awards will be given on December 2 in New Delhi.

The Awards are given away in 3 categories – role model disabled persons, non-disabled role model supporters and companies, organisations or institutions who demonstrate their belief in equal rights and gainful employment for persons with disabilities.

The winners under the role model disabled persons category this year are Dr. Meenu Bhambhani (Head, Corporate Social Responsibility, MphasiS); Nupur Jain (Senior Executive, Wipro Ltd.); and Dr. Sam Taraporevala (Director, Xavier’s Resource Centre for the Visually Challenged). Mani Ram Sharma and G.J. Siddharth have been given a special mention.

Under the non-disabled role model supporters category Dhruv Lakra, Founder and C.E.O. of Mirakle Couriers; Team I.T. comprising of N. Ravi Shanker, Dr. Govind, Neeta Verma and Dr. S.K. Aggarwal; and Vikas Sharma (posthumously) have been awarded. I.B.M. India Private Limited, National Thermal Power Corporation (N.T.P.C.) Limited, Steel Authority of India Limited (S.A.I.L.) and Wipro Limited bagged the honours under the disabled friendly corporate category.

Several nominations were filed for the Awards that subsequently went through a rigorous selection process. The Selection Committee comprised of Dr. V. Krishnamurthy (Chairman, N.C.P.E.D.P.); Som Mittal (President, N.A.S.S.C.O.M.); Deepak Mukarji (Country Head, Corporate Affairs, Shell India Private Limited); and Preeti Mehra (Deputy Editor, The Hindu Business Line).