Deprecated: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in /home/ncpedp/public_html/ on line 21
The 13th N.C.P.E.D.P. – Shell Helen Keller Awards 2011 announced: Disability News and Information Service

Logo of Disability News and Information Service (DNIS)


The 13th N.C.P.E.D.P. – Shell Helen Keller Awards 2011 announced

The jury of the N.C.P.E.D.P. Shell Helen Keller Awards, which is in its 13th year, has announced the list of awardees in all three categories.

Category A: Role Model Disabled Persons: Disabled persons from within the disability sector and outside who have been active as ambassadors of the cause of employment for disabled people and are a positive role model for others.

The winners are Ashwin Karthik, Delivery Software Engineer, MphasiS, Bengaluru; Nilesh Singhal, Deputy Manager, State Bank of India, Bhopal and Pradeep Raj, General Secretary, Association for Disabled People, Delhi.

Category B: Role Model Supporters of Increased Employment Opportunities for Disabled People: Individuals from within the disability sector or outside who have contributed substantially to the cause of promoting employment opportunities for disabled people over an extended period of time.

Meera Shenoy, Chief Executive, Centre for PwD Livelihoods (CPDL), Hyderabad; Niranjan Khatri, General Manager of WelcomEnviron Initiatives, ITC Welcomgroup, New Delhi and Thilakam Rajendran, Managing Director, A.R.U.N.I.M., New Delhi are the winners in this category.

Category C: Role Model Companies/N.G.O.s/Institutions: Organisations from the disability sector or outside who have shown their commitment towards promoting equal employment opportunities for people with disabilities.

The awardees are Aegis Limited, Mumbai; Deaf Enabled Foundation, Hyderabad; I.T.C. Maurya, New Delhi; Muskaan (Parents Association for the Welfare of Children with Mental Handicap), New Delhi and Pointec Pens Private Limited, Bengaluru.

The jury this year comprised of Sushanta Sen, Principal Adviser to the Confederation of Indian Industry; Aarti Dhar, Special Correspondent, The Hindu; Anshu Gupta, Founder Director of GOONJ and Deepak Mukarji, Head of Corporate Affairs, Shell Group of Companies, India.